More

img_2420

I was feeding my 12 month-old blueberries for breakfast this morning, which is pretty much a staple around here, since it’s his favorite thing in the world. I was breaking them in half and placing them on his high chair table to eat. He can’t quite eat and chew whole ones yet with only 5 teeth. I had the bowl of blueberries on the kitchen table next to me, and I would lean over and place the halved ones onto his tray. There would be 12 pieces on his table, but he would point to the large bowl next to me, insistent upon eating “those” ones. “Ah ah ah” he would persist and point, totally ignoring the feast laid out before him. Simple but deep was God’s message to me as I fed my son. I was trying to teach him to eat what’s before him instead of wanting what wasn’t best for him in that moment. How often am I this child nagging for “more and more and more” and “that and that and that,” instead of being satisfied and thankful for the feast set out before me? God thoughtfully picks the fruit good for us and carefully prepares it for how we need it, and we insistent on something we think is better. Our minds are small and feeble, we don’t know what we need! I want to learn this now. I don’t want to go the hard way any longer. I want to be content with what God blesses me with now.

My husband and I watched the documentary Minimalism on Netflicks. It was a film following the leaders on living a lifestyle with less in America. There was a short portion of the movie that hit the tip of the iceberg on how marketing and media influence. Marketing and various media convince us to want more and be discontent quickly with what we have. This causes us to waste our precious moments on priorities to acquire and earn versus working just enough for what’s truly needed and finding joy in life’s simplest pleasures. Stephen and I walked away inspired and driven to not purchase anything else we didn’t need and stop allowing social media and marketing to control and rule our decision making. It’s going to be tough to stick to, but I think the more people and things we surround ourselves with that have the same mindset and purpose will motivate us. We’re starting a 10 day fast from social media, and I think that will start us off in the right direction.

I cannot help but think of the quote by C.S. Lewis:

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

Lewis is saying we often think we will find joy and contentment if we just have _____, or we just go to _____, or we experience _____, when God’s love is offered to us and that is better than all these things and more, or in his words “a holiday at the sea.” Only His love genuinely and deeply satisfies all our longings. Why do we settle for the things on earth “that grow strangely dim”? It doesn’t help when we let other voices invade our lives and speak louder than God’s soothing whispers. I’m excited for this fast to drown out all those loud and dishonest shouts that make me fill like I need stuff or my life isn’t good enough or it’s missing X. My devotion this morning spoke of being filled to the measure of the fullness of God (Ephesians 3:19) which is beyond human knowledge and comprehension. His love is so vast and overwhelming, but we have to choose it instead of anything & everything else and allow it to invade our lives.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

